Is Social Media pressure killing your Inspiration?

Remember when you were 15 and you felt like your parents where way too demanding and that killed your free spirit? This thought brought me to an analogy with how Social Media can be equally demanding and, at times, equally free spirit breaking. Rocking it on Facebook, twitter, instagram, tumblr, pinterest etc, it is not just about how great your content is. Having a successful Social Media identity – brand or personal – requires the same level of commitment, discipline and coherence that a romantic relationship. Think not? Well think again:

Communication: specific “language” for specific SM audience.

Dating: a routine is essential to keep the communication and interaction flowing.

Romancing: posting the same things over and over again will take you from Inspiration to Yawn.

Rings a bell now?

After Christmas and New Years I got to thinking about all the reasons that lead me to start yet another fashion blog. When I look at the Social Media pressure to create new exciting content on a daily basis, in specific hours, for specific audiences, it is not unusual to start questioning if this is really my way to go.

Don’t get me wrong, communication and marketing for any brand goes through, in some cases even comes from Social Media. Hence, creating a dynamic routine, and making it look and/or sound effortless when in fact it does require so much effort is the only way to become a social media star, to get your blog/site/brand on the spotlight and, literally, get the world and everyone that really matters, talking about you and what you do.

But is this me? That was the question popping up over and over again. In 2 days from today I would have reached the 1 month without posts mark. In spite of all that was going on in the fashion industry I couldn’t find myself the will to write. So what now? Shut it down? The next step was right in front of me:

Stop. Take a deep breath. Rewind and do the only thing that helps me move forward:

MeRemembering

If you reading me now ever had one of these moments when Obvious makes no sense to you, when the Pressure of post Criteria and right Social Media Language became overwhelming and the only wise thing to do seems to be throwing it all away… Don’t!

Stop. Remember why you started. Then Wake up. Kick ass and Repeat. Every day, every single day! Because, guess what? This is your life and you are the only one who can make it meaningful.

Thank you for reading.

Love, Petra

