Ethnic Inspiration #1: Stella Jean

I am not sure if it is because I am in Africa… I mean, who am I kidding? It is because I am in Africa that I spend a good deal of time going through fashion collection and designers that use prints, ethnic patterns, fabrics and looks in their collections. I stay mesmerized at beautiful editorials with turbans and accessories that reveal a feminine sensuality that, so it seems, I am quite fond of.

Considering I am staying for another twenty something days, I thought this would be a perfect opportunity to bring a my african stay an exotism that is translated to the blog and upcoming posts. Hence, over the next days and weeks, I want to share with you, my loyal readers, some of the things that have been inspiring me. Let’s get started?

Designer: Stella Jean

StellaJean_SS14_1

With a Haitian-Italian origin, this 34 year-old young woman, former model and mother of two, launched her first line in September 2012 at Milan Fashion Week – quite the place for a debut! Stella Jean definitely made the most of this opportunity and there was no mistake when it came to the opinions: a new talented designer was born.

Recovering the relevance of exotism and ethnicity in prints, colors and fabrics from the catwalks to the streets, this designers aesthetic is strong and affirmative, liberating women to go bold when it comes to their personal style. 

If you are not familiar with her work, let me share with you images from her SS14 collection. I am well aware that we are already in FW15, but this was the collection that made me fall in love with her work, hence it made sense that this should be the first to share.

StellaJean_SS14_2 StellaJean_SS14_3 StellaJean_SS14_4 StellaJean_SS14_5 StellaJean_SS14_6

To Stella, my message is: Thank you for pushing the envelope. When we explore our heritage, our background, our essence, beautiful things tend to arise. Case in point with your work. And if you ever looking for someone to wear your clothes proudly, I am your girl!

Petra

Photo credits: All rights reserved to Stella Jean, Stella Jean official website.
Follow me on Instagram @confashionista, Facebook Petra Confashionista
and Pinterest at ConFashionary by Petra Vaz

 

 

 

 

