Inspiration: Sizeless Beauty

When I was about 11 years old, people at school used to make fun of my full lips. I remember one day coming home and crying as I told my mother that I hated my lips. Why was I not like the other girls? My mother, in all her wisdom showed me different images of different women considered beautiful. Each one of us perceives beauty in a different way and what society says beauty is in one decade might change dramatically to the next.

Little did I know how much that would be true.

Nowadays, a full body, round shapes, big butts have become something women look forward to having. We are beginning to accept that being beautiful is simply being Myself!

Cass Bird, a talented photographer, has an editorial being showcased at Vogue.com “The Best Lingerie comes in all sizes” Simple black and white images of women and their bodies, their sizes and shapes.

PlusSize_Lingerie(CassBird)_3 PlusSize_Lingerie(CassBird)_4 PlusSize_Lingerie(CassBird)_5 PlusSize_Lingerie(CassBird)_6 PlusSize_Lingerie(CassBird)_7 PlusSize_Lingerie(CassBird)_8 PlusSize_Lingerie(CassBird)_9 PlusSize_Lingerie(CassBird)_10 PlusSize_Lingerie(CassBird)_11 PlusSize_Lingerie(CassBird)_12 PlusSize_Lingerie(CassBird)_13 PlusSize_Lingerie(CassBird)_14

So much has been said about this topic, I won’t go on and on with clichés we all have heard before. But I will say this: I was still young when I accepted the way I looked, my skin color, my full lips, my round shapes and my curves and it made all the difference to become the woman I am today.  

Thank you, Mom!

photo credits: All rights reserved to Cass Bird and Vogue.com
Follow me on Instagram @confashionista, Facebook Petra Confashionista
and Pinterest at ConFashionary by Petra Vaz
