Nelson Viera captures Eureka Shoes FW14/15

My Mother and Father made sure that while we grew up, my sister and I experienced as much cultural and artistic stimuli. I was about eight when we went to a local photography exhibition. My mother caught me sobbing at the photo of a poor little girl on a worn-out princess dress, holding a headless doll. It moved me, it spoke to me. / Ao longo da minha infância, os meus Pais garantiram que eu e a minha irmã tínhamos tanto acesso à arte e cultura quanto possível. Por volta dos 8 anos fomos a uma exposição de fotografia. A minha Mãe encontrou-me em lágrimas à frente da fotografia de uma menina de rua com um vestido de princesa todo esfarrapado e com uma boneca sem cabeça nas mãos. Esta imagem tocou-me profundamente e as lágrimas foram a minha forma de comunicá-lo.

Well I am not a photographer but that has never kept me from being moved by strong and beautiful imagery. This is precisely what happened when I saw Eureka Shoes Fall Campaign by Nelson Vieira. / Não ser fotógrafa nunca me impediu de ser tocada por imagens realmente bonitas. E isso foi o que aconteceu quando vi a campanha de Outono da Eureka Shoes pela lente de Nelson Vieira.

Nelson Vieira for Eureka Shoes FW14-15

Nelson Vieira for Eureka Shoes FW14-15

What story does it tell me? /Qual é a sua história para mim?

Movement and Stillness. Hardness and Softness. The first photo (above) made me want to stop and stare at each detail; the shoes, the clothes, the model, the space she is in made me curious about her own journey through Eureka Shoes. I was not mistaken. /Uma história de Movimento e Ausência dele. De Dureza e Suavidade. Logo com a primeira fotografia (acima) quis parar e ficar simplesmente a observar cada detalhe: os sapatos, as roupas, a modelo, o espaço em que existia, tudo isto me deixou curiosa sobre o que a Eureka teria para contar. E não me enganei.

An intentional photo shoot with an effortless feel to it. The colors and, quite remarkably, the temperature of the season reach through to us, in an inviting way. The centers of the attention are the shoes. Hence, the models stand, in the middle, owning their Eureka’s with pride. /Imagens intencionais, que parecem ter sido tiradas sem esforço algum. A saturação, as cores e, surpreendentemente, a temperatura fria-quente desta estação são todos elementos que chegam até nós de forma convidativa. No centro da atenção, assim como no centro da placa de mármore, estão os sapatos, está a Eureka. Como deve ser.

Nelson Vieira for Eureka Shoes FW14-15

Nelson Vieira for Eureka Shoes FW14-15

The international look of these photos is appealing to and valuable to the brand. Portuguese talent is, indeed, taking it to another level. /Com uma imagem internacional bem mais apelativa e interessante, é inegável que o talento Português está a subir a fasquia.

All photos have been published with the permission of the photographer Nelson Vieira. Thank you for it, Nelson! See more of his work HERE.

Follow THE CONFASHIONARY here and on FACEBOOKPINTERESTINSTAGRAM and TWITTER

